Skip to main content

LTU's Best Honored With Lawrence Excellence Awards

Release Date: October 19, 2016

Lawrence Excellence Awards

Lawrence Technological University honored six of its employees and a distinguished alumnus Wednesday, Oct. 12 during its annual Lawrence Excellence Awards program.

Two winners of the Mary Ann Marcum Customer Service Award were honored: Tracy Kash, administrative assistant to the dean of the LTU College of Arts and Sciences, and Chevette White, graduation and scheduling coordinator in the LTU Office of the Registrar. Both were praised for going above and beyond the norms for customer service in their respective roles, maintaining precise work and a positive outlook while dealing with demanding schedules.

Virinder Moudgil and Tracy Kash

Virinder Moudgil and Chevette White

Winning the 2016 Henry B. and Barbara J. Horldt Excellence in Teaching Award was Mark Farlow, an adjunct faculty member in LTU’s College of Architecture and Design.

Farlow is director of design at Hamilton Anderson Associates in Detroit, leading the development of the firm’s projects, with an emphasis on mixed-use, hospitality, commercial and residential process. He has been an adjunct professor at LTU since 1995. Farlow earned three degrees from LTU: a Bachelor of Science in Architecture, a Bachelor of Architecture, and a Master of Architecture. Earlier this year, he was also selected to receive the 2016 Distinguished Architecture Alumni Award by the Architecture Cabinet of the Lawrence Technological University Alumni Association.

Virinder Moudgil and Mark Farlow

Three LTU employees received the 2016 Mary E. and Richard E. Marburger Fund for Excellence in Achievement Awards.

Winning the Marburger Staff Person of the Year Award was Anne Dandar, administrative assistant in the Transportation and Industrial Design program of LTU’s College of Architecture and Design. Dandar earned a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan and an MBA from UM’s Ross School of Business. She spent 15 years in design, development and manufacturing at Ford Motor Co., then worked as a consultant in business planning, project development, human resources and fundraising. She joined Lawrence Tech in 2014 and has since earned rave reviews for her work with the program’s students.

Maria Vaz, Virinder Moudgil, Richard Marburger, and Anne Dandar

Winning the Marburger Faculty Member of the Year Award was Andrew Gerhart, professor of Mechanical Engineering. A graduate of the University of Evansville (Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering), the University of Wyoming (Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering) and the University of New Mexico (Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering), Gerhart teaches fluid mechanics, thermal sciences, engineering design and creative problem-solving at Lawrence Tech. He serves on numerous LTU committees, as faculty advisor to the LTU SAE Aero Design Team and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Student Chapter, and facilitates workshops worldwide on active, collaborative, problem-based and entrepreneurially minded learning. He also led an LTU effort to commemorate the French and Indian War by helping students design and build a long-distance cargo canoe that students paddled from Southfield to Pittsburgh, Pa., just as fur trappers did centuries ago.

Maria Vaz, Virinder Moudgil, Richard Marburger, Andrew Gerhart

Winning the Marburger Administrator of the Year Award was Elin Jensen, associate dean of graduate studies and research in LTU’s College of Engineering. A graduate of Aalborg University in Denmark and the University of Michigan, Jensen joined the LTU faculty in 2003. She became associate dean in 2010. She has served as thesis advisor to 19 master’s degree students and has published some 40 journal and conference papers. As a researcher, she has secured $720,000 in research awards, including a $400,000 National Science Foundation CAREER award, given to promising young researchers. She has been recognized by her peers for her work ethic, dedication, and warm human touch to students and fellow faculty members.

Virinder Moudgil, Richard Marburger, Elin Jensen, Maria Vaz

The final award of the day, the Marburger Champion for Institutional Excellence and Preeminence, was bestowed upon Kirk T. Steudle, director of the Michigan Department of Transportation. Steudle, a construction engineering graduate of LTU, has served as state transportation director under Republican and Democratic administrations. He is a national expert on connected vehicle technologies and has received several national awards from transportation organizations. He has been generous in providing time and counsel supporting LTU students and programs.


America's Top Colleges
Nation's Green Colleges
Tpp 10 percent, 2022 Wall Street Journal/Times Higher Education rankings