Lawrence Tech alumni, professor win AIA Detroit awards

Release Date: September 9, 2015
Raymond Cekauskas

                   Raymond Cekauskas

Two alumni of Lawrence Technological University and an LTU professor will be honored at the AIA Detroit’s 2015 Celebration of Architecture on Thursday, Sept. 24.

This year’s award winners include:
• Raymond Cekauskas, BSAr’78, AIA, Gold Award.
• Carolyn Dwyer, BSAr’87, LEED AP ID+C Hon. AIA, Honorary Affiliate Award.
• Professor Joongsub Kim, AIA, AICP, Charles Blessing Award.

The annual event will be held in Eastern Market Shed 3 from 5:30-10 p.m. Tickets may be purchased at

The Detroit chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Detroit) hosts the architecture community’s annual event, which is the highest-attended program for the Detroit Design Festival and also part of Eastern Market After Dark.

A principal at Landry | Cekauskas Architecture in Birmingham, Cekauskas has been an architect, designer, and craftsman for three decades. He shares his enthusiasm for architecture with others through mentoring and teaching. He has a passion for designing and fabricating everything from furniture to lighting. He is a proponent of collective creativity as the crucible for change that will make the world a better place.

As a design leader, Cekauskas has engaged in multiple project types ranging from science, research, and healthcare facilities, to workplace and community buildings. As a thought leader and advocate for the importance of good design in shaping our future, he has authored numerous publications on sustainability and presented at many national, regional, and secondary-school programs.

Carolyn Dwyer

                       Carolyn Dwyer

Dwyer is the Detroit sales representative of Patcraft, a national supplier of flooring materials. She is founder and president of the Interior Designers Coalition for Change (IDCFC), a non-profit 501(3)c organization that provides commercial interior design services for communities where there is a need and resources are limited. She is an avid supporter of the design industry and has participated on committees for AIA Detroit, the American Society of Interior Designers, and the International Interior Design Association.

Dwyer previously traveled abroad extensively as a director for the International Reports Division of the Washington Times. Prior to that, she was principal of CBD Design in Grand Haven.

Kim will receive an award named in honor of Charles Blessing, the longtime Detroit city planner who was one of the most prominent leaders of his profession. This award is presented annually to someone who shares Blessing’s vision of what a great city can be.

Kim is director of both LTU’s Master’s of Urban Design Program and its Detroit Studio, an off-campus, community-based design and educational program. The Detroit Studio provides students an enriched educational experience through community-based architectural, urban design, and community development projects, which provide planning services to community groups.

Kim revived the dormant AIA Detroit Urban Priorities Committee and chaired it from 2010 to 2014. Currently he serves on the AIA national committee on regional and urban design. He served as a co-chair of the 2015 Structures for Inclusion, an international conference for socially responsible design, which was held in Detroit and at Lawrence Tech.

Joongsub Kim

                       Joongsub Kim

A graduate of MIT and the University of Michigan, Kim focuses on public interest design, and has received numerous honors and grants, including an ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching Award, a Boston Society of Architects National Research Grant, an ACSA Collaborative Practice Award Citation, a Graham Foundation Advanced Studies Grant, an NCARB Integration of Practice and Education National Grant, and an AIA Michigan President’s Award.

Kim’s work has been published in numerous publications, including Urban Design International, Journal of Urban Design, Places, Environment & Behavior, Architectural Record, and Architect.


America’s Top Colleges
Top 11% Alumni Salaries
Best in the Midwest
© 2020 Lawrence Technological University   |   Privacy Statement
This site uses cookies to provide you with a better experience. For information on LTU's cookie policy, please visit this page. By continuing to use the site or closing this banner, you are agreeing to our terms of use.