11 student research projects win presidential grants

Release Date: December 8, 2014
undergraduate research

Students who have received undergraduate research grants are (L-R in the back row) Brendon Veldboom, Philip McMurray, David Stroshein, Derek Shunia, Luv Lodhia, and Alin Codreanu. In the front row are Andreea Vasile, Sarah Fewkes, Jose Rodrigo Sanchez Vicarte, and Rachel Anderson. (Not pictured: Evan Kuminski)


Lawrence Technological University President Virinder Moudgil has given 11 Presidential Undergraduate Research Awards of up to $1,000 each for faculty-sponsored student research projects.

“One of the University’s priorities is the promotion and support of faculty-sponsored undergraduate research,” Moudgil said in announcing the winning projects. “I commend the students for their pursuit of knowledge and those faculty who will guide them through the process.”

The Presidential Undergraduate Research Award recipients will display their work during LTU’s annual Research Day on April 10, 2015.

“I hope that their collective effort and dedication will encourage future research collaborations between students and faculty so that we may continue to strive for excellence,” Moudgil said.

The following students (with their mentors in parentheses) have won research grants:

• Rachel Anderson (Franco Delogu and Gonzalo Munevar), electrical brain stimulation and working memory.
• Alin Codereanu (Constance Bodurow), prototype for Net Zero Energy project with a Detroit school.
• Sarah Fewkes and David Strosshein (Jeffery Morrissette and Julie Zwiesler-Vollick), characterization of microbial communities in the pitcher fluid from the carnivorous plant, Sarracenia Purpurea.
• Evan Kuminski (Lior Shamir), automatic classification of galaxies in digital sky surveys.
• Luv Lodhia, leader of a student team (Franco Delogu), perceptual study on the discriminability of sugar from artificial sweeteners in carbonated soft drinks.
• Philip McMurray (Gonzalo Munevar), lexical access in the temporal cortex: tDCS stimulation of the top-down modulation mechanism of language communication.
• Derek Shunia (Yin Wang), big data, large-scale image processing, GPU computing, and parallel algorithms using NVIDIA CUDA.
• Brendon Veldboom, (James Stevens), digital tools abroad.
• Andreea Versile (James Stevens), digital-vernacular fabrication.
• Jose Rodrigo Sanchez Vicarte (Changgong Zhou), implementing system control through RaspberryPi programming.
• Jose Rodrigo Sanchez Vicarte (Yin Wang), 3D model generation with NVIDIA CUDA.


America’s Top Colleges
Top 11% Alumni Salaries
Best in the Midwest
© 2019 Lawrence Technological University   |   Privacy Statement
This site uses cookies to provide you with a better experience. For information on LTU's cookie policy, please visit this page. By continuing to use the site or closing this banner, you are agreeing to our terms of use.