Delta Sigma Theta

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C. on January 13,1913 by 22 collegiate women. Delta Sigma Theta embraces the motto: “Intelligence is the torch of wisdom”. We are committed to sisterhood, scholarship, and service. Along with these principles we embrace our five-point programmatic thrust. Since its founding more than 200,000 women have joined the organization and currently there are 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters nationally and internationally.

The Delta Psi chapter was chartered November 13, 1954 on the campus of University of Detroit Mercy. It is currently a Detroit city-wide chapter that includes Lawrence Technological University and the University of Michigan-Dearborn. As a city-wide chapter, we focus on the development of Detroit and its surrounding cities through community service.

Chapter: Delta Psi
Colors: Crimson and Creme
Nickname: Deltas
Council: NPHC (National Pan-Hellenic Council)