Delta Mu Delta



Nearly 50 Lawrence Technological University College of Management students were inducted on Friday, March 24, 2017 into the Delta Mu Delta international business honor society.

In a dinner program at Plum Hollow Country Club in Southfield, Beth Chappell, president and CEO of the Detroit Economic Club, offered an inspiring message to the inductees, their guests and family members, and LTU faculty and staff in attendance.

Chappell urged the inductees to give of their time, talent and treasure to the community during their careers.

“When I was first starting out, I had student loans to repay, and I didn’t have a lot of money to give to charity – but I had time,” she said. “It’s amazing how you can use your gifts and your skills to help other people. Be bigger than yourself. Be bigger than your career.”

When it came to nonprofit involvement, Chappell also advised the students: “Don’t do anything because you want to meet people and advance your career… Do something that comes from your heart.”

LTU President Virinder Moudgil also addressed the crowd, noting that wherever they may be in their careers, they will have an opportunity to “excel, change the world, be transformative.” He also encouraged the students to read and learn widely in philosophy, ethics and economics, and to be sensitive to cultural differences in today’s global economy.

Delta Mu Delta is a business honor society that recognize3s and encourages academic excellence of students at qualifying colleges and universities to create a community that fosters the well-being of its individual members and the business community. 2017 marked LTU’s fourth annual induction ceremony.

Induction Ceremony

Delta Mu Delta members inducted Friday night were:

Doctoral inductee: Gerald Storey

Graduate inductees: Sanad Affara, Fatimah Mohammad A. Alomair, Lisa Anderson, Neha Bibireddy, Brian Blassic, Patrick Bostick, Paul Coles, Yolanda Dewberry, Mary Evarts, Michael Fraley, John Gates, Jennifer Gonzalez, Ramya Priya Gundala, Georgeta Hirceaga, Rahul Jakkam Chandrashekar, Casey Johnson, Michael Kaplan, Mark Kohls, Jonathan LaRue, Xi Li, Kathleen Lytle, Rahul Mamindia, Charles Mausoff, Sagar Naik, Aishwarya Narasimhan, Christopher Orr, Naga Udaya Deepthi Parupudi, Andrea Prendi, Stephanie Saez-Jovane, Anne Schwartz, Michael St. John, Jiayi Sun, Neil Thomas, Sashi Velnati, Naga Durga Sravani Yelamarthi.

Undergraduate inductees: Ekram Mohammad A. Adam, Lama Alabdulqader, Theresa Coward, Joshua Dirlam, Tanner Flint, Jan Frederik Horstkoetter, Kirk Markowski, Carolyn McCullen, Collin Peters, Christian Souvenir, Amanda Steinbis, Mashia Tate.

Congratulations to all of our students who were inducted in recognition of their outstanding academic success! We look forward to the future of Delta Mu Delta on LTU’s campus!

Delta Mu Delta members

Delta Mu Delta is a business honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence of students at qualifying colleges and universities to create a DMD community that fosters the well-being of its individual members and the business community through life-time membership.

John Petty

Mr. John G. Petty, ME’65, Trustee of Lawrence Technological University 

Delta Mu Delta was founded by the Dean from Harvard University and four professors from Yale University and New York University in November, 1913.

Delta Mu Delta, DMD, was incorporated in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1952.

In 1963 DMD was admitted to membership in the Association of College Honor Societies, ACHS, (click on Professional Affiliations, above) an organization of nearly 70 member international honor societies whose objective is to maintain high standards for the recognition and promotion of academic excellence in higher education.

In 1992 the Society established an affiliation with the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs, ACBSP, (click on Professional Affiliations).

Delta Mu Delta is the International Honor Society for business programs accredited by ACBSP at the baccalaureate, graduate and doctoral levels.

Chapter Founding Ceremony

Dr. Betty Jean Hebel presents Dr. Anne Kohnke, Faculty Advisor for Delta Mu Delta, with the Delta Mu Delta Commemorative Plaque.


Delta Mu Delta membership not only recognizes the outstanding academic success, but also offers various professional opportunities:

  • Professional Network of 150,000 members from 300 chapters, who share your passion for excellence and can help you continue your education by “learning on the job.”
  • Employment Opportunities
    Through Professional Networks and enhanced job searches. You can join regional groups, business specialty groups, and chapter groups and create a group that reflects your interests. Many campus chapters provide events for alumni members to network with corporate and continue their education with speaker events.
  • Scholarship Program
    In 2013, Delta Mu Delta will provide $59,000 in scholarships to ensure that exceptional students in the Society can continue their education. This represents a 50% increase in scholarship funds in the past five years. More information is available at DMD scholarship page.
  • Bloomberg Businessweek Subscription
    Delta Mu Delta is committed to advancing your knowledge of business and facilitates access to Bloomberg Businessweek in print or on-line form. New inductees automatically receive a one-year subscription (50 issues). After the first year, you can capitalize on an 88% reduction in price in comparison to newsstand prices to keep receiving the magazine. Signup here for DMD Bloomberg Businessweek.
Matt Sauer

Mr. Matt Sauer, BSHu'84


New members of Delta Mu Delta are chosen by the College of Management for the Annual Ceremony in April, based on the following criteria:

  • Completion at least half of required coursework at LTU
  • Completion of at least 24 credits at LTU
  • Undergraduate students maintaining a GPA of 3.2 and above
  • Graduate and Doctoral students maintaining a GPA of 3.85 and above
  • All candidates for membership in the society must also be in the top 20 percent of their class.
President Moudgil

President Moudgil