college of architecture + designaccreditation information

National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.  The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.  A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Lawrence Technological University, College of Architecture and Design, Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program:

Master of Architecture (through 3 possible tracks):

Track I DE:168 credit-hour direct-entry for student entering the University as freshman or as lower-division transfer students from community colleges, articulation partners, and so forth.

Track II 36: 36 credit-hour graduate-level-track for students with pre-professional degrees from other institutions.

Track III: 3+: 90-credit-hour program for students with baccalaureate degrees in subjects other than architecture.

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2022

Annual Reports
NAAB responses to the Annual Report