ltu online - higher learning commission

2010 Higher Learning Commission Reaccreditation

Lawrence Tech is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.  The Comission will visit Lawrence Tech from October 18-20, 2010 for our ten-year reaccreditation review.  The Steering Committee has coordinated university-wide efforts to support the accreditation process.  The institutional accreditation is a peer review process, as outlined in the the Self-Study Overview, which also provides information on current accreditation criteria, principles and timeline. Dr. Walker’s State of the University Address from September 2010 discussed the accreditation process in more detail.

 Self Study (link)

Self Study (Print)

Evidence Repository

Site Visit Team

Dr. Donald M. Bird (Team Chair), Professor of Chemistry, United States Air Force Academy
Dr. Ruth A. Dyer, Associate Provost/Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Kansas State University
Dr. Thomas C. Hagovsky, Associate Professor, Aviation Technology, Purdue University
Dr. Terry B. Smith, Executive Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs, Columbia College
Dr. Arthur E. Snyder, President, Indiana Institute of Technology


Lawrence Tech has prepared a comprehensive Self-Study demonstrating the University's progress against the commission's criteria for accreditation. The University is also submitting two requests for institutional changes for new doctorial programs and online degree programs.

Self-Study Steering Committee

The Self-Study process is led by Provost Maria Vaz and coordinated by Associate Provost Alan McCord. College representatives to the Self-Study Steering Committee are:

College of Architecture and Design: Dale Gyure
College of Arts and Sciences: Valentina Tobos
College of Engineering: Lew Frasch
College of Management: Patty Castelli

Self-Study Principles

Provide evidence of alignment of institutional mission with institutional outcomes (assurance section).

Provide evidence that the institution can sustain its mission (advancement section).

Demonstrate linkages between long-term initiatives, student learning outcomes, and operations.

Engage the entire University community in the accreditation process.