Mission Statement

The Architectural Engineering Industry Advisory Board commits to sharing its professional experience as practitioners and leaders for the purpose of providing expert guidance to LTU in the education of engineers, ultimately supporting the University’s overall Mission and Vision. The Board meets regularly with LTU faculty to discuss current needs and future trends in the Architectural Engineering industry, advising on best industry practices, technology, areas of industry growth, curriculum, outreach, and opportunities for the professional community to engage with students for their continuous success.

Vision Statement

LTU’s Architectural Engineering program will be nationally and internationally recognized for rigorous emphasis on engineering fundamentals, innovative research, and challenging hands-on learning projects that are delivered in a progressive, multicultural environment. The Board’s contribution results in an exceptionally well-prepared, diverse generation of engineers capable of independent learning, practical application, and global leadership to improve their communities, our profession, and society.

  Nabil Grace  Glen S LeRoy  Gordon Holness
  Dr. Nabil F. Grace, Ph.D, PE
Dean, College of Engineering
Lawrence Technological University  
Distinguished Professor,
Director, CIMR

Glen S. LeRoy, FAIA, FAICP
Dean, College of Architecture
& Design
Lawrence Technological  University
AIA Regional Director for Michigan 

Gordon Holness, PE
Honorary Member
Chairman Emeritus,
Albert Kahn Associates
Past President, ASHRAE Society

  Photo Not Available Adrienne Bannett Rick Corona
  Peter Basso, PE 
Peter Basso Associates
Adrienne Bennett,

Products Direct LLC
Licensed Master Plumber/Contractor 

Rich Corona, P.E., LEED AP
Sr. Project Manager 
Infrastructure East Region
Tetra Tech       Mechanical

  Alan Cobb Michael Cooper Dan Englehart
  Alan Cobb, FAIA, LEED AP
Senior Vice President
Director of Design
Architecture & Sustainability
2010 AIA Michigan President
Michael Cooper, PE
Managing Principal,
Harley Ellis Devereaux
Dan Englehart, PE 
Chief Operating Officer
Peter Basso Associates
  John E. Enkemann Larry E. Filson Jeff Gerwing
  John E. Enkemann, FAIA
Senior Vice President, COO
Albert Kahn Associates
Chair for NCARB’s ARE Committee
Larry E. Filson
Director of Preconstruction Services
Construction, Management &
Jeff Gerwing, IALD, LC, IESNA, LEED AP  
Principal, Director of Operations, 
SmithGroup Inc.
  George Karidis Robert Mauck Athanados Nasr
  George Karidis PE, LEED®AP
Vice President 
SmithGroup, Inc.
Senior Mechanical Engineer
Corporate Engineer for
Science & Technology 
Robert J. Mauck AIA, PE 
VP, Virtual Design & Construction,
GHAFARI Associates, LLC
Architectural Engineer 
Dr. Athanacios Nasr, Ph.D
Desai/Nasr Consulting Engineers, Inc.
  Mark A. Nasr Valerie Niemiec Robert Stevenson
  Mark A. Nasr, JD
Plunkette Cooney 
Attorney At Law
Valerie Niemiec, BSCCS '81, BSME '83
Safe Homes, LLC
Robert Stevenson, PE
Sr. Vice President at Ghafari 
Ghafari Associates, Inc.
Mechanical & Sustainability
  Cherish Samuels Edwin Tatem Scott Townsend
  Cherish Samuels, P.E., LEED AP
Project Engineer
McDonalds USA LLC
US Restaurant Design
Edwin Tatem, PE
Michigan President, Parsons Brinckerhoff
Michigan Area Manager  
Scott Townsend, PE, LEED® AP
Manager of Electrical